coopstill.blogg.se

Omnifocus 3 subtasks
Omnifocus 3 subtasks










omnifocus 3 subtasks

I keep a checklist of various comms channels (email, slack, whatsapp, twitter, etc) that I periodically work through 2 - 4 times a day, to ensure I didn't miss anything, or can close that 'loop' for a few hours I keep a separation between Personal and Work/Project tasks, but sometimes will reference Work items in my Personal tasks if important Each project has it's own Linear or Trello project/board This includes habits such as daily planning, weekly planning with 'Backlog' review on Mondays, or weekend planning on Wednesdays I use Conjure (disclaimer I've built this) I have a "Backlog"/"Some Day" list of items I want/need to do, but don't have a clear date yet, I review this once a week Certain ongoing items will have a link to a Roam page with more details (which is great as can collapse blocks of text, embed files, etc) Every item has a date (even if I have to push it back when time comes) I use a Omnifocus like webapp I built for myself I work across a couple of things, I found using one list or simpler approaches ultimately didn't suit me, so I built up an approach that works well for for me. Each week I review the lists and make adjustments, such as removing things from “Maybe” I don’t want to do, etc. Projects have a specific due date and deliverable, but usually multiple reminders or tasks I want to write down.Įach morning I review my lists to commit to 1-2 tasks I will accomplish for the day. Project-specific lists: These are multi-step projects I’m working on. these are not tasks, but high level reminders. Such as workout, swim, eat less oil, etc. Habits: This list contains 5-10 things I want to do every day. These are not tasks, but high level reminders. Like learning a language, or growing my business. Goals: This list contains 2-3 goals I’m working towards. They could be tasks, ideas, desires, anything. Maybe: This is where I dump anything I may or may not want to do, so I don’t forget. These are things like filing taxes or forms, selling an appliance I don’t need anymore, etc. To do: Tasks I’ve decided to do some day. I can do everything with keyboard shortcuts they use the "modal editing" paradigm, which allows features like "type to search" (you can start typing anywhere, and it instantly brings the search interface) etc. Sometimes, I have many parallel projects that require prioritisation, that's true, but even in such cases, I prioritise weekly (usually, Monday's evening when it is more or less clear how the week goes).Īh, and yes, the UX of the application is excellent. If I need prioritisation, I am overwhelmed with projects and try to solve this problem first. But the circumstances have changed, and now you have a dilemma: convince yourself that it is not necessary anymore and you made a mistake or blindly follow the priority tag. They can change in an eye blink and sometimes give you a false feeling of control (you marked something as a high priority a month ago, and it bothers you. It depends on the job, but priorities never work for me. When I have the scope for today, I try to break down large tasks into smaller ones (for two reasons, it is easier to overcome all the distractions during the day with smaller tasks and to think about the scope once again). Validate the tasks assigned for Today, scan the active projects for open tasks and check the agenda. For example, I have a "Hobbies" area with projects like "Blogging", "Watching List", or "FFXIV". It is worth mentioning that Things hides Someday (postponed) tasks and projects from the overview by default, and it helps to stay focused. Areas are a helpful feature too where I store work or personal related projects. When I finish with the Today list, I scan the Upcoming view for something I can work on in advance and then switch to the Anytime list (I use tags as a context switcher, like Work, Personal, Hobby) to pick up the next one Today list of tasks I have to accomplish today with strict deadlines. Inbox is a regular trash bin for all the incoming things (I review them once in 2-3 days) Things supports Someday/Anytime flows for easy reviews, recently they implemented markdown support for notes within tasks (including subtasks), and I like the concept of Deadlines.

omnifocus 3 subtasks

My journey looks like Emacs Org Mode -> Omnifocus -> Journaling mode (Notion, Craft) -> Things, and I am happy with the current setup.












Omnifocus 3 subtasks